Xylella Fastidiosa Active Containment Through a multidisciplinary-Oriented Research Strategy

Consortium Bodies



PROJECT COORDINATOR: The project is coordinated by the Institute for Sustainable Plant Protection of the Italian, National Research Council (CNR-IPSP).

COORDINATION TEAM: Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche CNR – Istituto per la Protezione Sostenibile delle Piante, Sede di Bari. Via Amendola, 122/D, 70126 Bari (Italy).

Scientific Coordinator:

Maria Saponari – maria.saponari@ipsp.cnr.it

Administrative Office:

Luciana Savino – luciana.savino@ipsp.cnr.it

Phone: +39 0805443068 – +39 0805929248



GENERAL ASSEMBLY: The General Assembly is the decision-making body of the project. All project partners are represented in the General Assembly, chaired by the project coordinator.

The General Assembly meets annually, unless the interest of the project may require intermediate meetings, to consider the reports of the Project Coordinator, the Scientific Coordination Team, accounts for the past financial year, and to decide upon changes to the Implementation Plan.



MANAGEMENT BOARD: The Management Board is the decision-implementing body of the project. It is made up of the WP leaders, supported by the Sub-Coordinators of each WP and is chaired by the Project Coordinator. The Management Board will be in charge of:

  • the operational management of all the activities of the Project;
  • the supervision of the research work flow, management;
  • overseeing Project presentation and results dissemination;
  • It will also prepare the decisions to be taken by the General and ensure that these decisions are properly implemented and survey ethical and gender issues;
  • is in charge of monitoring all activities towards the overall objective of the project in order to deliver as promised, in due time and in the budget.

Members of the Board:

  • Maria Saponari, CNR-IPSP
  • Marie-Agnes Jacques, INRA
  • Pieter Beck, JRC
  • Annamaria D’Onghia, CIHEAM
  • Michael Maixner, JKI
  • Blanca Beatriz Landa, CSIC
  • Alberto Fereres, CSIC
  • Antonio Vicent, IVIA
  • Francoise Petter, EPPO
  • Davide Meinero, S-COM


SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE: The Scientific Committee is a management body chaired by the Project Coordinator, in charge for the coordination of the research and dissemination activities.

Members of the Board:

  • María Milagros LÓPEZ, former IVIA
  • Alberto FERERES, CSIC
  • Domenico BOSCO, CNR-IPSP
  • Stephen PARNELL, USAL
  • Daniel CHAPMAN, NERC
  • Riccardo VALENTINI, CMCC
  • Françoise PETTER, EPPO
  • Marina BARBA, CREA

ADVISORY BOARD: The Advisory Board consists of internationally acknowledged scientists and consultant from outside the project. The main role of the Advisory Board is to provide the project with points of view and advices, coming from other scientific communities and areas interested in the outcomes of the project.

Members of the Board:

  • Prof. Mariano Cambra, former IVIA
  • Prof. Edwin Civelolo, former USDA-ARS
  • Prof. Leonardo De La Fuente, AUBURN UNIVERSITY
  • Dr. Willem ROELOFS, DEFRA


STAKEHOLDER BOARD: The Stakeholder Board is appointed from international and national Plant Protection and quarantine services, from policy makers at the EU level, growers, producers and nurserymen organizations, extension services and will be formed for this program if the project is funded.

The Stakeholder Board will ensure that the Consortium takes into account the interests of the stakeholders and end-users and operates for the benefit of the EU growers and of the Plant Protection Services. The board will be open to all the associations and organizations interested to join the consortium and the project.

Current members of the Board: